Webinar: Civil law and common law - Comparison of estate administration on death. 2 June 2021

Host group
Host Left
Hosted by
Cross-Border Estates SIG
Event Type
Web Event
Date

Timings:

  • 07.00 Los Angeles, Vancouver
  • 09:00 Mexico City
  • 10.00 New York, Toronto
  • 11.00 São Paulo
  • 14:00 GMT/UTC
  • 15.00 London
  • 16.00 Berlin, Paris
  • 18.00 Abu Dhabi
  • *Convert other timezones

Duration:

1:30:00

Event Focus

With increasing globalisation of people and their assets, common law practitioners and advisors need to know more about how an estate is administered in civil law countries, and likewise, civil law practitioners and advisors need to know more about how an estate is administered in common law countries. Yet there is a general lack of understanding on these issues, including on key legal differences between the two legal regimes, but as well on a practical basis, what actually happens in carrying out an estate administration under each regime.

This webinar will join together common law and civil law speakers who will discuss key differences between the two legal cultures, and then explore them on a practical basis using a case study involving an estate administration with both elements.

Why Attend?

Speakers will explore the following issues:

  • Testamentary freedom versus forced heirship and the impact of each on estate administration
  • The probate process and the role and authority of the executor versus “seisin” - immediate vesting in the heirs and the role of an administrator or similar
  • Types of wills including formal wills, holograph wills and notarial wills
  • Use of testamentary trusts versus general absence of domestic trusts
  • Assets of the estate and impact of matrimonial regime: separation of property versus community of property.

Speakers

  • MODERATOR: Margaret O’Sullivan TEP, Managing Partner, O’Sullivan Estate Lawyers LLP, Toronto-Canada
  • Brian Cohen TEP, Partner, Gowling WLG, Toronto-Canada
  • David Stevens TEP, Partner, Gowling WLG, Toronto-Canada
  • Alessandro Belluzzo TEP, Partner, Belluzzo International Partners, London-UK
  • Andrea Moja TEP, Partner, Belluzzo International Partners, London-UK and Milan-Italy

Description

A live webinar accessible by web (both for audio and visuals) from your computer, tablet or smartphone. In a designated session towards the end, attendees will have the opportunity to ask live questions of the speakers.

Joining Instructions

To join the webinar at the designated time, prior registration is required. (Booking site available in due course)

Following registration, registrants will receive an email containing instructions for joining the webinar.

Cost group
Event Cost
Cross-Border Estates SIG Member - £50 (+ VAT)
STEP Member - £60 (+ VAT)
Non-member - £70 (+ VAT)
CPD Points
CPD Certificates are not automatically supplied following an event. Should you require a CPD certificate confirming your attendance at an event please contact the person on the calendar listing to request this.
1.5
Download
Contact
STEP Special Interest Groups Team
Add to Calendar 2021-06-02 00:00:00 2021-06-02 00:00:00 Webinar: Civil law and common law - Comparison of estate administration on death. 2 June 2021 Timings: 07.00 Los Angeles, Vancouver 09:00 Mexico City 10.00 New York, Toronto 11.00 São Paulo 14:00 GMT/UTC 15.00 London 16.00 Berlin, Paris 18.00 Abu Dhabi *Convert other timezones Duration: 1:30:00 Event Focus With increasing globalisation of people and their assets, common law practitioners and advisors need to know more about how an estate is administered in civil law countries, and likewise, civil law practitioners and advisors need to know more about how an estate is administered in common law countries. Yet there is a general lack of understanding on these issues, including on key legal differences between the two legal regimes, but as well on a practical basis, what actually happens in carrying out an estate administration under each regime. This webinar will join together common law and civil law speakers who will discuss key differences between the two legal cultures, and then explore them on a practical basis using a case study involving an estate administration with both elements. Why Attend? Speakers will explore the following issues: Testamentary freedom versus forced heirship and the impact of each on estate administration The probate process and the role and authority of the executor versus “seisin” - immediate vesting in the heirs and the role of an administrator or similar Types of wills including formal wills, holograph wills and notarial wills Use of testamentary trusts versus general absence of domestic trusts Assets of the estate and impact of matrimonial regime: separation of property versus community of property. Speakers MODERATOR: Margaret O’Sullivan TEP, Managing Partner, O’Sullivan Estate Lawyers LLP, Toronto-Canada Brian Cohen TEP, Partner, Gowling WLG, Toronto-Canada David Stevens TEP, Partner, Gowling WLG, Toronto-Canada Alessandro Belluzzo TEP, Partner, Belluzzo International Partners, London-UK Andrea Moja TEP, Partner, Belluzzo International Partners, London-UK and Milan-Italy Description A live webinar accessible by web (both for audio and visuals) from your computer, tablet or smartphone. In a designated session towards the end, attendees will have the opportunity to ask live questions of the speakers. Joining Instructions To join the webinar at the designated time, prior registration is required. (Booking site available in due course) Following registration, registrants will receive an email containing instructions for joining the webinar. Cross-Border Estates SIG Cross-Border Estates SIG Europe/London public