Webinar: What is the Advisor’s Responsibility? Wealth Stewardship, Social Equity and Building Back Better - 22 July 2020

Host group
Host Left
Hosted by
Philanthropy Advisors SIG
Event Type
Web Event
Date

Timings:

  • 08.00 Los Angeles, Vancouver
  • 10:00 Mexico City, Panama City, George Town (Cayman)
  • 11:00 New York, Toronto
  • 15:00 UTC / GMT *
  • 16:00 London
  • 17.00 Berlin, Paris
  • 19.00 Abu Dhabi
  • 20.30 Delhi, Mumbai
  • *Convert other timezones

Duration:

1:00:00 (60 minutes)

Focus

During these turbulent times, the COVID-19 pandemic is shining a spotlight on existing social inequities, including disparities in wealth, health and wellbeing. This enhanced transparency is also fuelling the anti-racism protest movement occurring in several countries. In response, many of us are asking what is my responsibility? And how can I play a role in advancing social equity?

Our clients may also be asking these questions, behoving STEP members to consider our part in informing these reflections. Historically professionals may have primarily played a neutral, agnostic role in supporting our clients’ philanthropy; however, is our responsibility shifting?  

Why attend?

This webinar, hosted by STEP’s Philanthropy Advisors Special Interest Group (SIG), will consider responsible stewardship of wealth in advancing social equity and the role of advisors on these issues in today’s climate, exploring:

  • How to start incorporating philanthropy and values into wealth and succession planning
  • How to engage philanthropically and otherwise during times of turbulence and upheaval
  • How to bring the next generation into these discussions and decision making processes

Speakers

  • Carly Doshi TEP, Head of Philanthropy, Family Governance, & Family Office Advisory, HSBC Bank USA
  • Michele Fugiel Gartner, Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy® (CAP®) / PhD Candidate, University of St. Andrews
  • Sianne Haldane TEP, Chief Impact Officer, Maanch
  • Gina Pereira TEP, CEO, Dāna Philanthropy and Co-Chair, STEP Philanthropy Advisors SIG

Description

A live webinar accessible by web (both for audio and visuals) from your computer, tablet or smartphone. Following presentation, attendees will have the opportunity to ask live questions of the speakers, by means of web-chat. A replay file will be made available following the event.

Joining Instructions

To join the webinar at the designated time, click 'Join' below (or alternatively use the url https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/800749861 ) **No prior registration required**

This webinar uses GoToMeeting. If you haven't used this before, then you can test the software in advance at: https://link.gotomeeting.com/system-check
https://global.gotomeeting.com/install/

You can also join by phone:
Standard international dial-in number: 001-872-240-3212  (*001 is equal to +1 / USA)
Access Code: 800-749-861

Terms & Conditions: View the full Terms & Conditions for STEP Web Events

Cost group
Event Cost
0.00
Free of charge
CPD Points
CPD Certificates are not automatically supplied following an event. Should you require a CPD certificate confirming your attendance at an event please contact the person on the calendar listing to request this.
1
Download
Contact
Special Interest Groups Team
sigs@step.org
Add to Calendar 2020-07-22 00:00:00 2020-07-22 00:00:00 Webinar: What is the Advisor’s Responsibility? Wealth Stewardship, Social Equity and Building Back Better - 22 July 2020 Timings: 08.00 Los Angeles, Vancouver 10:00 Mexico City, Panama City, George Town (Cayman) 11:00 New York, Toronto 15:00 UTC / GMT * 16:00 London 17.00 Berlin, Paris 19.00 Abu Dhabi 20.30 Delhi, Mumbai *Convert other timezones Duration: 1:00:00 (60 minutes) Focus During these turbulent times, the COVID-19 pandemic is shining a spotlight on existing social inequities, including disparities in wealth, health and wellbeing. This enhanced transparency is also fuelling the anti-racism protest movement occurring in several countries. In response, many of us are asking what is my responsibility? And how can I play a role in advancing social equity? Our clients may also be asking these questions, behoving STEP members to consider our part in informing these reflections. Historically professionals may have primarily played a neutral, agnostic role in supporting our clients’ philanthropy; however, is our responsibility shifting?   Why attend? This webinar, hosted by STEP’s Philanthropy Advisors Special Interest Group (SIG), will consider responsible stewardship of wealth in advancing social equity and the role of advisors on these issues in today’s climate, exploring: How to start incorporating philanthropy and values into wealth and succession planning How to engage philanthropically and otherwise during times of turbulence and upheaval How to bring the next generation into these discussions and decision making processes Speakers Carly Doshi TEP, Head of Philanthropy, Family Governance, & Family Office Advisory, HSBC Bank USA Michele Fugiel Gartner, Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy® (CAP®) / PhD Candidate, University of St. Andrews Sianne Haldane TEP, Chief Impact Officer, Maanch Gina Pereira TEP, CEO, Dāna Philanthropy and Co-Chair, STEP Philanthropy Advisors SIG Description A live webinar accessible by web (both for audio and visuals) from your computer, tablet or smartphone. Following presentation, attendees will have the opportunity to ask live questions of the speakers, by means of web-chat. A replay file will be made available following the event. Joining Instructions To join the webinar at the designated time, click 'Join' below (or alternatively use the url https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/800749861 ) **No prior registration required** This webinar uses GoToMeeting. If you haven't used this before, then you can test the software in advance at: https://link.gotomeeting.com/system-checkhttps://global.gotomeeting.com/install/ You can also join by phone: Standard international dial-in number: 001-872-240-3212  (*001 is equal to +1 / USA) Access Code: 800-749-861 Terms & Conditions: View the full Terms & Conditions for STEP Web Events Philanthropy Advisors SIG Philanthropy Advisors SIG Europe/London public