Founder's Awards - 2020

The STEP Founder’s Awards for Outstanding Achievement take place annually.

The Founder’s Awards for Outstanding Achievement which commemorate George Tasker, the founder of STEP, are awarded to our exceptional volunteers who have made an extraordinary and outstanding long term contribution to the Society above and beyond that normally expected of a volunteer whether through office in his or her branch or elsewhere in the voluntary life of the Society.

The 2020 recipients will be announced on 29 January 2021.

Awards Panel

Nominations will be assessed by a panel comprising Michael Young, Rosemary Marr, Richard Pease, Helene Lewis, (past Chairs of STEP) and Dayra Berbey de Rojas, and Chaired by Michael Cadesky.

Nomination details will be confidential, and nominators will not be disclosed to the panel. Nominators are asked not to approach panel members directly.

The final decision on any nomination is for the panel alone. The panel receives many nominations, and not all are accepted. For this reason, it is strongly recommended that a nomination remains private and confidential and not be disclosed to the candidate. Where one is rejected, candidates are equally eligible to be nominated in the future.

Awards announcement

Nominators will be advised of the successful nominees on Monday 16 November, although the results will not officially be announced until the Annual General Meeting on Thursday 3 December and will be kept confidential until that time. Each region/branch will decide with STEP Head Office how and when they would like the award to be presented.

Previous Recipients - 2008 to 2019 (PDF 370 KB)