Qualifications and Membership Framework

The Qualifications and Membership Framework harmonises entry requirements around the world and allows those applying for STEP membership to have their prior qualifications and experience formally recognised through Accreditation of Prior Learning (APL). This comes in the form of:

  • Accredited Prior Certificated Learning (APCL)
  • Accredited Prior Experiential Learning (APEL)

You can find out more about APL in the Guidance Notes below.

There are four levels of STEP membership:

Applicants begin the process by enrolling at Entry Level. Applicants need 60 credits at Entry Level to gain affiliate membership and progress to Diploma Level courses. Some will be able to earn the full 60 credits through APL (see Guidance Notes below) and others will need to complete a combination of STEP certificates.

Existing members will be credited automatically and can enrol on Diploma Level courses immediately.

Reaching full membership requires two years of experience, including significant involvement at a specialist level with one or more of the following: planning, creation, management of and accounting for trusts and estates, executorship administration and related taxes.

More information