SIG Spotlight Week Webinar: Digital assets in estate planning: understanding the technology / service provider viewpoint - 30 November 2020

Host group
Host Left
Hosted by
Digital Assets SIG
Event Type
Web Event
Date

SIG Spotlight Session:

5 / 21

One of the 21 one-hour webinar sessions you can register for across SIG Spotlight Week 2020. Book as many sessions as you like with increasing discounts according to the number of sessions you wish to book. SIG members, STEP members and non-members all welcome!

Timings:

  • 09:00 Los Angeles, Vancouver
  • 12:00 Toronto, New York
  • 14:00 São Paulo
  • 17:00 GMT/UTC - London
  • 18.00 Paris, Berlin
  • 21:00 Abu Dhabi
  • 22:30 New Delhi
  • (+1) 06:00 Auckland (1 December)
  • *Convert other timezones

Duration:

1:00:00

Event Focus

Estate planning of digital assets may follow similar planning steps as physical assets or property rights but is often constrained by provider service agreements, jurisdictional laws and sometimes inherently by the technology itself (e.g. being virtual and therefore likely difficult for the fiduciary to find). Globally, very few technology / service providers or online businesses offer explicit estate pre-planning options.

This unique session will introduce the topic of technology / service provider viewpoints. Hear from experts in the industry involved with technology/service providers; their experiences and their point of view in addressing estate planning of digital assets. The panel will explore:

  • options from a provider perspective, balancing legal constraints with risks and challenges, including discussing compliant work arounds;
  • what advisors should understand about planning for digital assets;
  • how the estate industry could collaborate with providers as they engage in the estate planning journey.

Speakers

  • MODERATOR: Sharon Hartung TEP, Founder and Principal, Your Digital Undertaker – Canada
  • Fergal Browne, Policy Stakeholder Engagement Manager, Facebook – Republic of Ireland
  • Jed Brubaker, Assistant Professor-Information Science, University of Colorado – USA
  • Dr. Edina Harbinja, Senior Lecturer-Media/Privacy Law, Aston University – United Kingdom
  • Dave Michels, Research Assistant-Cloud Legal Project, Queen Mary University of London – United Kingdom

Description

A live webinar accessible by web (both for audio and visuals) from your computer, tablet or smartphone. In a designated session towards the end, attendees will have the opportunity to ask live questions of the speakers.

Joining Instructions

To join the webinar at the designated time, prior registration is required.

Following registration, registrants will receive an email containing instructions for joining the webinar.

Cost group
Event Cost
Digital Assets SIG Member - £40 +VAT
STEP Member - £50 +VAT
Non-member - £60 +VAT
CPD Points
CPD Certificates are not automatically supplied following an event. Should you require a CPD certificate confirming your attendance at an event please contact the person on the calendar listing to request this.
1
Contact
STEP Special Interest Groups Team
Add to Calendar Disabled